Beacon Hill Public School

Be proud to achieve

Telephone02 9451 6328


Europeans were first granted land at Beacon Hill in 1857. The eight children of Edward and Mary Daines, who were the first settlers in 1902, would have attended Brookvale Public School, which opened in 1887.

In 1929, The Beacon Hill Progress Association petitioned the Government for a school, but they thought Oxford Falls was the place for a school and it opened shortly afterwards. Enrolments were few and it closed in 1985.

The number of houses on Beacon Hill increased after World War II so a school was finally opened in 1955 with 72 children being enrolled. The number of students grew to 1050 in 1975 but as these children grew up and families became smaller the enrolments stabilised and have been the amount of 400 to 500 enrolments ever since 1985.

The library was opened in 1982 and the multi-purpose centre in 1990.

60th year anniversary

In 2015, Beacon Hill Public School turned 60!

Amongst an outstanding program of events, Celebration Day showcased the talents of the school's students and teachers through our fantastic grade performances. We were taken on a journey through time, from the 1950s to the present a celebration and opportunity to reminisce about a wonderful 60 years. Beacon Hill Public School would be considered the heart of our community - fostering partnerships between students, staff, parents and the wider community.

It is here that we see our local heroes at work every day - parents volunteering their time in so many capacities, teachers and support staff working so incredibly hard for our students. These partnerships enhance the learning opportunities and educational outcomes for all students, challenging them to exceed expectations.

Our beautiful Garden of Reflection created between the entire Tristram Road fence line and school buildings is a lasting memorial to a school with proud traditions and an exciting future.