Beacon Hill Public School

Be proud to achieve

Telephone02 9451 6328

Learning at our school

Find out more about what your child will learn at our school.

At Beacon Hill Public we believe all children should enjoy learning and experience a broad curriculum.

Our highly successful programs are developed by the teachers based on the National Curriculum documents, key learning continuums and the Quality Teaching Framework. The key learning areas are supported through the use of integrated technology such as iPads, laptops digital cameras and interactive whiteboards.

Teachers are continually provided with updated courses and are engaged in Action Learning Projects to enable them to become familiar with newly developed syllabus documents and various programs implemented in our school.

Our school's curriculum policies reflect the requirements of the Board of Studies and the Department of Education and Training and encourage students to participate in a wide range of activities while succeeding to their best ability.

At Beacon Hill Public School we aim to provide all children with a quality education by catering for their individual learning needs.

Our quality teaching staff possess a diverse range of skills, talents and abilities which contribute to effectively providing all children with a wide range of extra curricula opportunities and specific curriculum areas.

Our teachers use a balance of teaching styles throughout the school day to cater for the student's individual differences and preferred learning styles. Some of the ways we teach include whole class instruction, group work based on ability, mixed ability groups, working with a partner, team teaching, individual learning programs, interactive whiteboards (Smartboards and iPads), computers, video conferencing and bookwork.

The wider community are extremely important and valued by Beacon Hill Public School as partners in learning and we welcome parents, grandparents and community members openly into our classrooms.

The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) is responsible for the curriculum, Kindergarten to Year 12, for all NSW schools.

For the primary years, NESA develops syllabuses for all subjects in 6 key learning areas:

  • creative arts
  • English
  • human society and its environment (HSIE)
  • mathematics
  • personal development, health and physical education (PDHPE)
  • science and technology.

Some primary schools may also offer languages.

Like all NSW schools, we have developed teaching and learning programs to suit our local context and the needs of our students.

To learn more about curriculum in NSW, visit:

Stages of learning

There are 6 stages of learning from Kindergarten to Year 12. Primary school covers Early Stage 1, or Kindergarten, to the end of Stage 3.

  • Stage 1 includes Kindergarten to Year 2 (Kindergarten is referred to as Early Stage 1).
  • Stage 2 includes Years 3 and 4.
  • Stage 3 includes Years 5 and 6.